Federal Outreach

Congressional Defense Communities Caucuses

The Defense Communities Caucuses,  bipartisan groups of lawmakers, provide a unified voice for the hundreds of communities that host active and closed installations, support those communities in their efforts to assist service members and their families, and raise awareness of the unique issues and challenges facing defense communities. The caucuses serve as a liaison among Congress, DOD and the private sector and advance dialogue on issues important to defense communities, such as defense infrastructure, innovative partnerships that strengthen communities and enhance installation efficiency, renewable energy projects, and military families/veterans support.

113th Congress (2013-2014)

House of Representatives Defense Communities Caucus

  • Rep. Sam Farr (CA), Co-Chair
  • Rep. Lynn Jenkins (KS), Co-Chair
  • Rep. John Barrow (GA)
  • Rep. Rob Bishop (UT)
  • Rep. Madeleine Bordallo (GU)
  • Rep. Mo Brooks (AL)
  • Rep. Paul Broun (GA)
  • Rep. Julia Brownley (CA)
  • Rep. Cheri Bustos (IL)
  • Rep. Matt Cartwright (PA)
  • Rep. Joaquin Castro (TX)
  • Rep. Joe Courtney (CT)
  • Rep. Mario Diaz-Balart (FL)
  • Rep. Randy Forbes (VA)
  • Rep. Trent Franks (AZ)
  • Rep. Paul Gosar (AZ)
  • Rep. Tim Griffin (AR)
  • Rep. Brett Guthrie (KY)
  • Rep. Colleen Hanabusa (HI)
  • Rep. Denny Heck (WA)
  • Rep. Frank Lucas (OK)
  • Rep. Mike Michaud (ME)
  • Rep. Candice Miller (MI)
  • Rep. George Miller (CA)
  • Rep. Scott Perry (PA)
  • Rep. Scott Peters (CA)
  • Rep. Chellie Pingree (ME)
  • Rep. Scott Rigell (VA)
  • Rep. Tim Ryan (OH)
  • Rep. Bobby Scott (VA)
  • Rep. Mike Thompson (CA)
  • Rep. Niki Tsongas (MA)
  • Rep. Jackie Walorski (IN)
  • Rep. Lynn Westmoreland (GA)
  • Rep. Ed Whitfield (KY)
  • Rep. Rob Wittman (VA)
  • Rep. Kevin Yoder (KS)

Click here to ask your House Member(s) to join today.

Senate Defense Communities Caucus

  • Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (ND), Co-Chair
  • Sen. Johnny Isakson (GA), Co-Chair
  • Sen. Mark Begich (AK)
  • Sen. Saxby Chambliss (GA)
  • Sen. Martin Heinrich (NM)
  • Sen. Mazie Hirono (HI)
  • Sen. James Inhofe (OK)
  • Sen. Tim Kaine (VA)
  • Sen. Joe Manchin III (WV)
  • Sen. Jerry Moran (KS)
  • Sen. Christopher Murphy (CT)
  • Sen. Pat Roberts (KS)
  • Sen. Brian Schatz (HI)
  • Sen. Jon Tester (MT)
  • Sen. Mark R. Warner (VA)

Click here to ask your Senators to join today.


Click here to read the latest news from the Defense Communities caucuses.

Questions about the Defense Community Caucuses?

Please contact Randy Ford, rford@defensecommunities.org or (202) 822-5256 ext 424

PrintFriendly and PDF
Array ( )