First-Term Senators to Lead Armed Services’ Readiness Panel

Sens. Claire McCaskill (D) of Missouri and Kelly Ayotte (R) of New Hampshire today were named as chair and ranking member, respectively, of the Senate Armed Services’ Readiness and Management Support Subcommittee.

McCaskill was elected to the Senate in 2006, and previously served on the readiness subcommittee. She replaces Evan Bayh (D-Ind.), who retired at the end the 111th Congress. Ayotte was first elected to the Senate last November. Her predecessor, Richard Burr (R-N.C.), no longer serves on the Armed Services Committee.

The jurisdiction of the Readiness Subcommittee includes military construction; BRAC; housing construction and privatization; defense environmental programs; training, logistics and maintenance; contracting and acquisition policy; industrial operations; and business and financial management.

The complete roster for the Senate Armed Services’ Readiness Subcommittee:


  • Claire McCaskill (chair)
  • Daniel Akaka (Hawaii)
  • Ben Nelson (Neb.)
  • Jim Webb (Va.)
  • Mark Udall (Colo.)
  • Mark Begich (Alaska)
  • Joe Manchin (W. Va.)
  • Jeanne Shaheen (N.H.)


  • Kelly Ayotte (ranking member)
  • James Inhofe (Okla.)
  • Saxby Chambliss (Ga.)
  • Rob Portman (Ohio)
  • Susan Collins (Maine)
  • Lindsey Graham (S.C.)
  • John Cornyn (Texas)
Dan Cohen
Dan Cohen

Posts Carousel