House Milcon Spending Panel Gains New Leaders

Republicans and Democrats in the House named new leaders for the Military Construction and Veterans Affairs Appropriations Subcommittee in the 112th Congress following organizational meetings earlier this month. John Culberson (R-Texas), in his sixth-term, will chair the subcommittee, replacing former Rep. Zach Wamp as the panel’s top Republican after Wamp made an unsuccessful bid for governor of Tennessee.  Culberson, whose Houston district does not include any military installations, is one of five new Republicans on the panel.

The complete Republican lineup:

  • John Culberson (Texas), chairman
  • Bill Young (Fla.)
  • John Carter (Texas)
  • Jeff Flake (Ariz.)
  • Steve Austria (Ohio)
  • Kevin Yoder (Kan.)
  • Alan Nunnelee (Miss.)
    • On the Democratic side, Rep. Sanford Bishop Jr. (Ga.) ascends to the subcommittee’s ranking position after Rep. Sam Farr (Calif.), who was the top returning Democrat, opted to become ranking member on the committee’s Agriculture panel. Farr will remain on the subcommittee, however. Chet Edwards (D-Texas), who had been the subcommittee chair, was defeated last November. Bishop’s district in southwestern Georgia has two installations — Fort Benning and Marine Corps Logistics Base Albany.

      The complete Democrat lineup:

    • Sanford Bishop (Ga.), ranking
    • Sam Farr (Calif.)
    • Betty McCollum (Minn.)
    • Jim Moran (Va.)
    Dan Cohen
    Dan Cohen

    Posts Carousel