Defense Community Awards Season Opens

Defense Community Awards Season Opens

ADC has opened the nominations process for the 2018 Defense Community Awards, a way to highlight the accomplishments of outstanding defense community leaders in front of key decision-makers from Congress and DOD. ADC will present this year’s awards at a luncheon during the 2018 Defense Communities National Summit, June 18-20 in Washington. Awards honor community or state, military, base redevelopment and congressional leaders whose accomplishments demonstrate vision, innovation and excellence. Specific categories are:

  • Community or State Leadership (2017 winner: Utah State Sen. Jerry Stevenson)
  • Military Leadership (2017 winner: Col. Robert Lyman, commander, 628th Air Base Wing and Joint Base Charleston)
  • John Lynch Base Redevelopment (2017 winner: Ivy Owen, executive director, Fort Chaffee Redevelopment Authority)
  • Congressional Leadership (Note: We plan to honor one member of the House and Senate under this category.)

“The Defense Communities Awards program is an opportunity to share the stories of outstanding defense community leaders and for them to be acknowledged for the hard work they put into supporting defense communities and our nation’s military,” said Tim Ford, CEO of ADC.

Award criteria and other information are available on the ADC website. The deadline for nominations is March 1.


Posts Carousel