• ADC Congratulates 2017 Defense Community Award Winners

    ADC Congratulates 2017 Defense Community Award Winners1

    ADC is proud to announce the 2017 recipients of the Defense Community Awards, which honor the achievements and leadership present in our defense communities, on military installations and within the Department of Defense: Community Leadership Award — Recognizes an individual whose outstanding leadership helps (1) drive the success of a base redevelopment project; and/or (2) build a military-community partnership to enhance the mission of an active installation. An honoree may be an elected or appointed (non-military) official at the state, regional or local level, a volunteer, or the chief executive officer of a local redevelopment authority (or equivalent organization). 2017 Winner: Utah State Sen. Jerry Stevenson …

  • ADC Membership to Cast Ballots for New Officers0

    ADC members will have an opportunity to usher in new leadership for the association next month at the 2017 Defense Communities National Summit in Washington, D.C., when they vote on a slate of new candidates for board president, vice president and treasurer, and two new candidates to join the board of directors. William Parry, city manager for Gatesville, Texas, has been nominated to become ADC’s next president. Parry has been the association’s vice president since 2016 and has served on the board since 2014. He would replace Mike Cooper, chairman of the Oklahoma Strategic Military Planning Commission, as board president. Joe Driskill, the Missouri military advocate, has been nominated for vice president. Driskill was first elected to the ADC board in 2015. Susan Morris, a principal at Booz Allen Hamilton, has been nominated to become board treasurer …

  • ADC Honors Defense Community Award Winners

    ADC Honors Defense Community Award Winners0

    ADC celebrated the defense communities, installations and their leaders who were recipients of the 2016 Defense Community Awards during last month’s Defense Communities National Summit. Below are descriptions of each of the award winners: Base Redevelopment Excellence — Fort Chaffee Redevelopment Authority. The LRA’s redevelopment of 6,000 acres of excess property in western Arkansas under the direction of Ivy Owen has come a long way since the post closed. Chaffee Crossing, a mixed-use, “smart growth” community, has attracted more than $1.1 billion in capital improvements, generated 1,400 jobs and become the home for 1,600 single- and multi-family residences across 19 developments …

  • Graham Urges ADC Members to Go Toe to Toe with Lawmakers over Sequestration

    Graham Urges ADC Members to Go Toe to Toe with Lawmakers over Sequestration0

    Pledging to go on a “political jihad” if Congress fails to undo the statutory spending caps that are hampering the nation’s military from meeting current and future threats, Sen. Lindsey Graham urged attendees at the Defense Communities 2016 National Summit to make it their highest priority as well. “If you want to do something, don’t advocate for your base. Come up here and advocate for Congress not to decimate the military as a whole,” Graham said Tuesday during the Defense Community Awards Luncheon …

  • Book Explores Base Redevelopment around the World

    Book Explores Base Redevelopment around the World0

    A new book of case studies of base redevelopment chronicles the intricate and lengthy challenges community leaders and other government officials, planners and developers faced in converting more than a dozen urban and rural military installations across the globe to new uses. Sustainable Regeneration of Former Military Sites includes chapters on well-known closures during the BRAC era — Naval Air Station Brunswick, Maine, and the Philadelphia Naval Shipyard — along with several older ones — the Brooklyn Navy Yard and the Frankford Arsenal, Pa. …

  • Four Candidates on Slate to Join ADC Board0

    ADC members will have an opportunity to vote on four new candidates to the association’s board of directors during the annual business meeting at next month’s National Summit in Washington. The elections will mark the last phase in the expansion of the board, with the number of directors increasing from 14 to 15, including the past president, following June’s elections. The board’s expansion from 13 directors was approved during a special vote of the membership in March 2015. The four new candidates for the board are: Kathleen Ferguson, senior advisor, The Roosevelt Group; Susan Morris, principal, Booz Allen Hamilton; Kevin Sullivan, executive director, Utah Defense Alliance; and John Walker, specialist leader, Deloitte …


Latest Posts